Voting begins to elect New President of India

New Delhi :  Voting for the presidential election in which National Democratic Alliance candidate Droupadi Murmu is pockmark against joint opposition pick Yashwant Sinha began on Today.Polling began from 10 am and Prime Minister Narendra Modi was among the first to emit his vote. The voting process would end at 5 pm.Almost 4,800 was elected MPs and MLAs are qualtify to vote in the election, but nominated MPs and MLAs, and members of Legislative Councils are not.Other than Room number 63 on the first floor of Parliament House, which had been converted into a polling station, voting is at the same time taking place at various state assemblies.The national capital, voting is also underway at the Delhi legislative assembly.

Counting of votes take place on July 21.

The system of mysterious ballot is followed in the presidential election, and parties cannot issue lashes to their MPs and MLAs with regard to voting.In spite with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote, every elector can mark as many preferences, as there are applicant contesting the election.The preferences for the applicant were to be marked by the elector, by placing the figures 1,2,3, 4, 5 and so on, against the names of the candidates, in the order of preference, in the space provided in column 2 of the ballot paper.In spite to Election Commission’s directions, while MPs would get a green-coloured ballot paper, the MLAs will get a pink ballot paper to emit their vote.

Looking to maintain secrecy of voting, the EC(Encumbrance Certificate)has issued especially designed pen with violet ink to enable voters mark their ballot papers in the presidential poll.