Hold bypolls to all 21 TN assembly seats, DMK to EC

The DMK has requested the Election Commission to hold by-elections in all the 21 vacant Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu on April 18 and not just in 18 constituencies.

In a representation to the poll panel on Monday, copies of which was distributed to the media here on Tuesday, DMK President M.K.Stalin said there are no court orders restraining the holding of by-elections in Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi and Thiruparankundram.

“Mere pendency of an election petition is not a bar under law for conducting by-elections. In fact, the ECI itself has conducted several by-elections in the past when election petitions are pending,” he said in the representation.

View more…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *