Follow Us On

7th Annual Vijay Awards And the Winner is...

7th Annual Vijay Awards And the Winner is...

September 25, 2015

Star Vijay’s 7th Annual Vijay Awards

The much awaited Star Vijay’s 7th Annual Vijay Awards is back. This year is sure to be bigger and bolder! Over the last six years, Star Vijay has created and established an even more sacred tradition, through their awards that recognize great talent and great entertainment.  The Star Vijay Awards is the only one of its kind in South India, where a television channel presents awards to its filmy brethren.  The prestigious Close Up 7th Annual Vijay Awards powered by Malles Constructions will be held on May 11, 2013, at SDAT (Nehru Indoor Stadium) Chennai.


There are thirty two categories of awards covering every aspect of cinema, including a special award to Unsung Heroes.  Majority of the awards are decided by the judges through a system of voting.  There are a handful of awards however, that are left to an even bigger panel of judges; THE AUDIENCE! Called the ‘Favourite’ Awards, the winners are decided only by the audience.

For the last six years the Rasigan Express travelled through various cities in the state giving the people an opportunity to vote for their Favourite stars and movies.  This year that tradition was changed.  Star Vijay came up with three innovative ways of getting the people to vote.  First up was the option to vote online.  The second option was to send SMS and the third allowed people to give a missed call.  May 01 2013 was the only day on which voting took place and the response was spectacular.

Nominees for FAVOURITE category


Ajith (Billa2)
Dhanush (3)
Suriya (Maatraan)
Sasikumar (Sundarapandian)
Vijay (Thuppakki)


Hansika (Oru Kal Oru Kannadi)
Ileana (Nanban)
Kajal Aggarwal (Thuppakki)
Samantha (Neethane En Ponvasantham)
Sruthi Haasan (3)


Naan Ee
Oru Kal Oru Kannadi


A.R. Murugadoss (Thuppakki)
Lingusamy (Vettai)
Rajesh (OkOk)
Shankar (Nanban)
SS Rajamouli (Naan Ee)


Google Google (Thuppakki)
Vayamoodi Summa Iruda (Mugamoodi)
Sollittaaley (Kumki)
Venam Machan Venam (OkOk)
Why this kolaveri (3)

The Jury

The Jury for the 7th Annual Vijay Awards is cinematographer Rathnavel, Director Vetrimaran, Director/Actor Cheran, Director Venkatprabhu, Director Yugi Sethu has the power and the responsibility to identify the winners.   

The Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award

One of the biggest highlight of the show is Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award.  It is a celebration of individual who have taken Tamil cinema to the next level through their own hard work, devotion, insatiable passion and inimitable talent.  This prestigious award was bagged by actor Kamal Haasan in 2006, Director Mani Ratnam in 2007, Music Director A.R. Rahman in 2008, actor Rajnikanth in 2009, Director K. Balachander in 2010 and singer SPB in 2011.

Short Film Award - New

Some of the greatest achievements started out as somebody’s small dream.  The small screen has paved way for many young dreamers.  And Star Vijay has been that launch pad to quite a few talents.  Joining forces with Fox Star Studios, Star Vijay has lit a bonfire of hope for aspiring movie makers.

Teasers of the nominated short films will be screened at the Star Vijay Award show, and one winner will be picked from the lot.  Besides being honoured on the same stage by silver screen veterans, the winner/director of the short film will be given the opportunity to direct a feature film produced by Fox Star Studios!


The Star Vijay Awards show is an evening of extravagance.  Over the years, the stage has come alive with performers from across the four major movie industries in the country.  This year they have whole lot of interesting performances planned.  One among them is National Award winning dancer-choreographer Birju Maharaj will have you spellbound with a spectacular live performance.  The Award ceremony will be hosted by actor Madhavan and Neeya Nana fame Gopinath.


This year Star Vijay has picked an innovative way to invite the tinsel town/nominees to the grand event.  Each one of them received a personalized invitation with a painting of them on it!

The prestigious Close Up 7th Annual Vijay Awards powered by Malles Constructions will be held on 11 May 2013, at SDAT (Nehru Indoor Stadium) Chennai.