Yoga-The great gift from India (186)-S SRIDHARAN

September 26, 2015, Chennai

Ads after article title

Sage Yajnavalkya continues:

There are three types of Pranayama, five types of Pratyahara, five types of Dharana, and six types of

com/images/articles/January2014/2748ca11-eed7-4a32-9d03-7875cb4f2053OtherImage.jpg" alt="Yoga" width="230" height="230" />Dhyanam of which three are important. However, Samadhi is only one. (I.47-48)

Now I will explain the different parts of the Yoga. Yama are ten in number. They are ahimsa, satyam, asteyam, brahmacharya, daya, arjavam, kshama, dhruti, mitahara and saucham.

Yogi-s describe ‘ahimsa’ as “not to cause any hardship to anyone at anytime, by actions, words or mentally. ‘Satyam’ is to speak truth which is comfortable to the other and just not as it is seen or understood. ‘Asteyam’ is to turn down wealth which does not belong to the self, by thought, word and deed.”

(1) ‘Ahimsa’ – ‘non-violence’ is considered as the foremost among the disciplines, here and in the yoga sutra and other yoga texts also.  

(2) ‘Satyam’ – is to speak truth.  Here it is recommended that one should not speak the abstract truth, which is called ‘rhythm’.  It should be spoken in a way not to harm the other.  The famous saying in this regard is ‘Satyam bruyat priyam bruyat na bruyat satyam apriyam, priyam ca nanritham bruyat etat dharma sanatanaha’ which means “Speak truth, speak in a palatable way, and don’t speak truth which is not palatable. Also don’t speak untruth because it is palatable.  This is the eternal dharma.”

(3) ‘Asteyam’ is generally non-stealing. It should followed by the three modes of action; by body, by speech and mentally.

About  the Author

S Sridharan had the privilege of learning the nuances of Yoga Sastra directly under Yogi     TKV Desikachar.  S Sridharan, a senior Yoga Therapist, Consultant and Teacher is Trust     of Krishnamacharya Yoga Mandiram, Chennai.